Starting up Waze from a php based application

Starting up Waze from a php based application

Postby shoppy » Tue Jul 31, 2018 6:44 am

Hi all,

I myself use Waze for a long time and am very pleased with it.

I build applications in php for companies an now one of them asked is it is possible to make a link from the address of a client to Waze.
I have the address of the client, the coordinates (latitude,longitude) but now I need to make a link to waze so the person can navigate from his current location to the address of the client.

How should the link look like because all I get now is a link to the website that tells me to download Waze.

John (shoppy)
shoppy
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 7:13 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Starting up Waze from a php based application

Postby vince1612 » Tue Jul 31, 2018 7:08 am

Hi, try this: https://www.waze.com/ul?ll=52.37461670% ... es&zoom=17
Code: Select all
https://www.waze.com/ul?ll=52.37461670%2C4.90419388&navigate=yes&zoom=17
[ img ]
Wiki & Forum: Wiki CH (D) (FR) | Forum CH (D) (FR) (I)
Website: waze-switzerland.ch | Facebook: Waze Switzerland
1+1=3 - The result of bringing talents together goes beyond simply adding them up.
vince1612
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7840
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 2:30 pm
Location: DACH Group (Germany, Austria, Switzerland)
Has thanked: 4529 times
Been thanked: 4816 times

Re: Starting up Waze from a php based application

Postby shoppy » Tue Jul 31, 2018 7:57 am

Thanks Vince,

I will give this a try to implement.

When I use this link on the phone or tablet it asks me to go to WAZE so that's good.
(On the PC it just gives me the map and no way to navigate, that was what I was trying to do. But on the phone it works like a charm)

Thanks again,

John
shoppy
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 7:13 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Starting up Waze from a php based application

Postby vince1612 » Tue Jul 31, 2018 8:06 am

The Livemap is being re-worked, there used to be a way to share a route (start+destination) with a URL that would then show the possible routes on PC. As far as we know it will be brought back in this new version but we have no ETA yet.
[ img ]
Wiki & Forum: Wiki CH (D) (FR) | Forum CH (D) (FR) (I)
Website: waze-switzerland.ch | Facebook: Waze Switzerland
1+1=3 - The result of bringing talents together goes beyond simply adding them up.
vince1612
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7840
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 2:30 pm
Location: DACH Group (Germany, Austria, Switzerland)
Has thanked: 4529 times
Been thanked: 4816 times

Re: Starting up Waze from a php based application

Postby shoppy » Wed Aug 08, 2018 9:11 am

Oke, I've got it to work.

The only thing I don't like is that, when clicked on the link, Waze does not start but it is asked if you would open the app for navigation.

Is there a way to automaticly open the app when the link is clicked?
shoppy
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 7:13 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Starting up Waze from a php based application

Postby vince1612 » Wed Aug 08, 2018 9:15 am

shoppy wrote:Oke, I've got it to work.

The only thing I don't like is that, when clicked on the link, Waze does not start but it is asked if you would open the app for navigation.

Is there a way to automaticly open the app when the link is clicked?

Not that I'm aware, you should ask here: https://www.waze.com/forum/viewtopic.ph ... 3&t=262984
[ img ]
Wiki & Forum: Wiki CH (D) (FR) | Forum CH (D) (FR) (I)
Website: waze-switzerland.ch | Facebook: Waze Switzerland
1+1=3 - The result of bringing talents together goes beyond simply adding them up.
vince1612
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7840
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 2:30 pm
Location: DACH Group (Germany, Austria, Switzerland)
Has thanked: 4529 times
Been thanked: 4816 times


Return to Waze Professional Drivers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users